Whole30 – Day 18 + Fermented Cod Liver Oil

I’ve reached the official completion of week one of the Spark Yoga 30 day challenge. Yay.  How do I feel? Energy levels are dipping a little but I feel stronger and more flexible.

To recap I’m doing two challenges right now. One for diet (Whole30) and one for fitness (Spark Yoga 30 day challenge). 

Whole30 is basically a more strict version of paleo where we focus on avoiding things that could contribute to disrupting your gut or cause inflammation or autoimmune disorders. Personally, it’s not about losing weight but rather eating clean and feeling better. The goal is to avoid processed foods for 30 days and see how you feel when you’re done.

The Spark Yoga 30 day challenge is to go to one class (yoga, aerial yoga, barre, pilates) each day for 30 days.

So where does fermented cod liver oil come into play?  Well, in prior paleo challenges when I was still doing crossfit I would supplement with FCLO to help with inflammation. I’m starting it up again to help with a little irritaion in my right shoulder. Two capsules with a meal, three times a day (and no I’m not eating bottlecaps…its just for size purposes).

image

If almost all my kitchen wasn’t getting packed up for this west coast move I would be eating more fish to incorporate more omega-3 into my diet. For now, this is what we’re stuck with.

FCLO is kind of like the cold pressed olive oil of all the oils on the supermarket shelf.  It’s the one that’s processed in a manner that preserves the most nutrients and retains its most natural state. Most oils (canola oil, soybean oil, etc) are processed using high temperatures and hydrogenation which chemically alters the oil and doesn’t make it very healthy. (I’m not going into the details here b/c this post would never end but definitely read up on hydrogenated oils). 

Similar processes involving high heat are used on regular fish oil capsules. Do your homework before you think about spending money on something and make sure it’s a quality product. 

image

Anyways, I’ve been using the Green Pasture FCLO brand with the orange flavoring. They use a fermentation method to produce their capsules but they ferment the livers, not the oil. You can read more about it here.

Before reading any further you guys should know that I’m not being paid to write any of this. I saw Green Pasture listed in my Practical Paleo book. I think it’s a good product and worth sharing. If you’re interested in reading more then you can check out the Balanced Bites post on FCLO here.

In closing, let’s not forget about rest and listening to our bodies. Don’t let your ego get the best of you and push beyond your limits. There are times when you need to back off and I’ve learned the hard way by tearing cartilage in my shoulder and not listening to my body. 

Leave a Reply

