Science. All in. Time to make a SCOBY.

What’s a SCOBY?  A SCOBY is a symbiotic culture of bacteria and yeast.  Sounds yummy, right?  It’s also what people use to brew kombucha.

What’s kombucha?  It’s this really expensive drink at whole foods.  Ok, ok it’s also a fermented fizzy drink that has lots of probiotics and health benefits.

Why am I writing about this?  Well, I’m attempting to brew some.

I’ve been following Stupid Easy Paleo on Facebook and she posted her kombucha brewing efforts (which look awesome BTW) so I’m going to give it a go.  Balanced Bites also has a really great post on kombucha and I’m going to follow the instructions on Food Renegade to actually make the SCOBY (despite their guidance on the store-bought kombucha reformulation of 2010 – thank A LOT Lindsay Lohan).

So far I have a gallon jar, a dozen 32 oz jars and I just need to pick up one plain kombucha, some organic green tea and sugar.

I fully understand the store bought stuff might not be enough to generate a SCOBY but I’ve got some time and yes, I like science…so stay tuned.  If the experiment fails then I’ll purchase a SCOBY but in the meantime I’ll continue to blow money on my two favorite flavors of kombucha: Gingerade and Strawberry Serenity.

If anyone is brewing kombucha and they want to give me a SCOBY…speak now!!

gingerade

One thought on “Science. All in. Time to make a SCOBY.

Leave a Reply

