L Week 1

20130109-220013.jpg

Turns out I made enough meat for a few days but didn’t have enough veggies so I made a few servings of my favorite nutrient dense veggie, kale. A few years ago I went to a really great cooking class by Monica Corrado (back before she had moved to CO and was still in VA). I learned how to make kale and beef stock and also that everything I was eating and using to cook was bad for me. She focused on whole, healthful food mostly from the Nourishing Traditions cookbook by Sally Fallon. I won’t go on and on but this class really changed they way I cooked and ate.

Cruciferous veggies are some of the most nutrient dense ones out there (kale, chard, collards) but they are difficult to digest so they must be cooked slightly. Additionally it further helps to break down further if you have something acidic to eat along side the veggie. Some fresh squeezed lemon juice or a few drops of vinegar are perfect.

Sautéed Kale
2 bunches of kale
1 tbsp butter
Lemon or vinegar
Salt
2 cloves of garlic

Fill a large pot about 1/3 of the way with water and bring to a boil. In the meantime slice the leaf from the rib or main stalk using a sharp knife. Discard the ribs.

Place the kale in the boiling water for about 2 min or until it changes color. Do not overcook. Strain the kale.

In the same pot heat the butter and add the garlic. Simmer until the garlic is browned. Add the kale. Sautéed for about 1 min.

Serve with lemon juice or vinegar.

Back to earlier this week. I wanted to mention that I’ve been eating gelatin with all my meals. No, not jell-o! I’m talking about plain, grass fed, chemical free gelatin. I have two kinds. Bernard Jensen’s and Great Lakes. Sometimes I’ll sprinkle it on my food and sometimes I’ll make the jell-o type with herbal tea.

Before you get all “eww that’s gross” let me just say that I haven’t heard anything crack or pop for a few days now (talking about my joints people). Just something to try.

20130109-222443.jpg

Leave a Reply

